The BadBadNotGood started out with their jazz interpretations of hip-hop music, talent that led them to work with artists like Tyler, the Creator and Frank Ocean. The group formed in 2010, when band members met at a jazz program in Toronto. After BBNG (2011), BBNG2 (2012), III (2014) and Sour Soul (2015), the group's collaboration with Ghostface Killah, the trio became a quartet in 2016. Leland Whitty joined the keyboard saxophonist Matthew Tavares Synthesizer), Chester Hansen (bass) and Alexander Sowinski (drums). Together they released "IV", album that featured special appearances by Samuel T. Herring, Future Islands, producer Kaytranada, and rapper Mick Jenkins.