They started out making music together in 2003, in a project that has later extinguished. In 2006, Herring, Cashion and Welmers continued their musical career with the creation of Future Islands, and called Erick Murrillo with a digital drum kit to complete the sound they wanted.

After a few EPs, singles, pauses and even the departure of Murrillo, "Wave Like Home" the debut album, of 2008, arrives. In constant tours and improvement of its sound, the North Americans made two more works in 2010 before showing the world "Singles", in 2014. The synthpop album was quickly acclaimed by contemporary critics and by the public as well, and among successful singles, it brought "Seasons (Waiting on You)," which was easily named music of the year in music publications such as NME, Pitchfork Media or Spin.